MCT Community Heroes


Community Heroes Announcement 2022

MCT's annual Community Hero Program honors four individuals each year who have displayed outstanding service to their community, as selected by a volunteer committee. 

While this program was temporarily cancelled in 2020 & 2021 due the pandemic, we're certain that there's no shortage of local heroes who went above and beyond for their community through their volunteer efforts.

The selected heroes will be announced and are invited to attend our annual MCT Community Appreciation Day on Friday, May 27, 2022 at our main office in Jim Thorpe, PA where they receive an award from MCT, citations from both the State Representative and State Senators, and a $200 donation to the organization/charity of their choice. An additional award celebration will take place in mid-June for the newly selected MCT Community Heroes, their families/friends and past Heroes.

Do you know someone who devotes an extraordinary amount of volunteer time to a non-profit and/or charitable organization? Stay tuned for further updates in early 2023 for the next nomination period!

Selection Criteria for Nominees:

  • Individual that is/has been active in non-profit/community organizations that benefit or improve the quality of life in Carbon County and/or the Tamaqua area on a volunteer basis and who devotes a substantial amount of their personal time to those activities (scouting, sports, charities, etc.) and has made a significant impact and contribution to their community.
  • Minimum age requirement - 25 years old
  • Heroes previously selected are ineligible. Previous heroes are listed below.
  • Religious affiliated nomination will be accepted if nominee is involved in faith-based activities that benefit the wider community (food bank, clothes drives, etc.).
  • No posthumous nominations.

Previous MCT Community Heroes

First / Last Name (Selection Year)

Sherri L. Anthony (2007)
Susan “Sue” Anthony (2009)
Larry L. Arner (2007)
Susan Y. Arner (2006)
George W. Ashman (2001)
Raymond W. Attewell (2003)
Otto Barbush (2011)
Lee Becker (2010)
Ronald J. Blisard (2004)
Lee W. Bond (2000)
Jeffrey P. Bowe (2015)
Ann Marie Calabrese (2006)
Michael D. Cody (2000)
Arthur W. Connely (2016)
Marveline Costenbader (2010)
Monroe C. Cressley (2005)
Manuel DaCosta (2003)
Jeana DePuy (2010)
William H. Diehm (2014)
Maureen Donovan (2015)
John Drury (2002)
George H. Duell, Jr. (2011)
Mary Ann Dulaney (2019)
Virginia Dunbar (2002)
Grace Dunn (2004)
Alfred Feuerstein (2013)
Maureen C. Foster (2017)
Mary Fox (2008)
James Gallagher (2003)
Sandra S. Gallagher (2001)
Joseph J. Gogal, Sr. (2000)
Randolph L. Gormley (2010)
Rick Grant (2013)
Manny Guedes (2004)
Robert J. Guth (2000)
Geraldine “Geri” Haas (2011)
Paul J. Hackash (2003)
David W. Hawk (2018)
Horace “Nick” Hawkey (2015)
Olivia Herman (2001)
Lisa Vavra Hiles (2017)
Gordon Holland (2003)
Sharon L. Hontz (2005)
Fred “Fritz” Hussar (2007)
Theresa M. Kattner (2009)
Peter L. Kern (2012)
Aloysius “Al” Klitsch (2005)
David B. Klitsch (2000)
John “Jack” Koehler (2004)
Al Kohler (2005)
Louise M. Koons (2016)
Rory F. Koons (2002)
Michael D. Kravelk (2007)
Jamie S. Kunkel (2010)
Christine LeClair (2019)
Ralph C. Lennon (2014)
Phyllis Lienhard (2019)
Madeline T. Ligenza (2002)
Gail Maholick (2008)
John F. Martino (2005)
John P. McArdle (2015)
Clem McGinley, MD (2017)
Carl S. Merluzzi (2007)
Rose Marie Mikulski (2012)
Margaret P. Miller (2006)
Todd G. Miller (2009)
Pam Moore (2006)
Edward J. Moyer (2014)
Martha Marie Moyer (2016)
Darlene E. Nothstein (2016)
Richard L. Nothstein (2009)
Wayne Nothstein (2006)
William L. Ocker (2001)
Francis “Snitz” O’Donnell (2010)
Randolph Rabenold (2000)
Shirley A. Radler (2002)
Connie Reinhart (2012)
Josephine A. Rhyder (2008)
Ralph D. Richards, Jr. (2009)
Phillip Rodgers (2000)
Edward “Coogie” Rontz (2000)
Lisa M. Rosenberger (2018)
Barry W. Scherer (2003)
Charles F. Schweibinz (2001)
Frank Sebelin (2008)
Ronald J. Sheehan (2002)
Charles D. Silliman (2005)
Randall L. Smith (2000)
Diane Snyder (2000)
Shirley J. Stamm (2018)
Jack Sterling (2019)
Robert L. Stevenson (2007)
Rev. Donald J. Stump, Sr. (2008)
George R. Taylor (2013)
Ann Marie Tessitore (2000)
Edith M. Thrash (2001)
Mary Sue Urban (2000)
Kenneth J. Vermillion (2008)
Louis A. Vermillion (2006)
Stephen P. Vlossak, Sr. (2009)
James H. Wentz (2014)
Wayne W. Wentz (2011)
Joyce Whaley White (2004)
Larry Wittig (2012)
Vera Yaniga (2004)
Isabel Wasas Zickler (2000)
C. Jean Zimmerman (2013)
Eric Zizelmann (2018)